What can I do for Uganda?

I just wrote a post on RFK awardee Frank Mugisha’s note on Uganda.  And I ask myself, what more can I do.  After I learned of the assassination of school teacher and LGBT activist David Kato, I reached out to Apollo, a Ugandan politician who was my flatmate during the 2007 Summer School in Forced Migration.  His parliamentary campaign was unsuccessful, which is too bad:  Apollo told me before the election that he does not agree with the (shameful, deadly, egregious, US religious right-inspired) treatment of LGBT folks in Uganda!  AllOut is doing some powerful online campaigns to reclaim the human rights of gay folks in Uganda, and my friend Jesse Hawkes is at the forefront of youth engagement on tolerance and other issues just one country over (8 hours by land) in Kigali, Rwanda.  See Global Youth Connect, the organization he directs.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

