Hello, President Sirota?

Time is money, right?  I am interested in the trigger … what makes us willing to spend our time to help out our fellow citizens (of NYC) and – well – fellow humans in general.  The other day a lady asked me if I’d call President Sirota of the Manhattan School of Music.  According to the flier I received, Manhattan School of Music charges some of the highest tuition rates in the country.  Yet, it pays the majority of its Precollege Division faculty – many of whom are MSM alumni – a rate that is lower than other area conservatories and even less than that of many community music schools.  Here’s what she asked me to convey in a phone call to the Prez:

* Paying your faculty such low rates threatens to damage the schools prestigious reputation;

* Paying your own graduates so little gives the impression that the College does not even value the degrees it bestows;

* Come to a fair agreement with Precollege faculty now.

So, I just left my message on the answering machine for his office (917-493-4477.  I hope it works.  Moreover, I’m gonna keep thinking about what it was that triggered me to act.  More on that soon …

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

