Take that, Clint!

The other day, I went to Facebook with a sharp remark forming in my mind … I’d just watched Clint Eastwood’s speech (??) at the RNC.  It went something like this:

So, I waited until today to watch Clint Eastwood’s speech at the RNC … how do you define the exact moment when you lose a small amount of respect for someone? I never really cared much about him … I was forced to watch one too many westerns as a child. I thought he was actually achieving something this last decade – something almost cerebral – with his films. But that speech .. that speech really showed what he’s about .. nothing, nothing at all .. no substance to speak of .. a dearth a profundity. So, I’ll just call it a ‘Clint’ … the moment when you lose a small amount of respect for someone!

Last night I watched the DNC convention speech by President Obama… what a difference it makes when you are actually there and not a distorted figment in the imagination of a senile movie star!  Yes, you are the President … You’re my president.  Your speech moved me and bumped me out of a valley of cynicism.  Don’t get me wrong, I wish you’d been clearer on a few things such as NO FRACKING for that ‘natural gas right under our feet’, but all in all I am so proud that you are my president … our president.  I feel that my values and aspirations are momentarily represented!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

