Artificial Centrality

Last week in the wake of Hurricane Sandy, the idea to cancel the NYC marathon zigzagged amongst officials before online petitions and other exertions of citizen power rendered it a fait accompli.  Around the same time, I was looking for a reference to Baudrillard‘s idea of artificial centrality for a detail to a blog I was writing on my work in Japan (where I was delayed getting back to NYC from).  Serendipitously in the same passage where I found the reference, he also speaks to the marathon itself.  Baudrillard is one of my moods, so I’m not surprised at his prescience … not even one bit.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

