Mayor Bloomberg, I still feel the same way …

Bloomberg_Mayors_Conference_ap_imgDear Mayor Bloomberg,

I wrote a blog on May 31, 2009 sharing my thoughts about your third term, and I have to say that I still feel the same.  As a New Yorker, I think your 3rd term maneuvers depleted our anorexic municipal democracy.  I recently saw a statistic in a Nation article, Bloomberg by the Numbers that since 2005 your wealth/worth has grown from $5 billion to $27 billion.  That’s only 8 years in which you’ve gained $22 billion, 3 of which I consider to be fraudulent due to your changing the city charter to enable a 3rd term.  While I do understand that you give some of your money away through your foundation, that’s not good enough for me.  It is not possible to differentiate your extended term of power from your ability capitalize power.  Therefore, your philanthropy does not justify the method by which you more than quadrupled your already enormous wealth.

Sincerely,

Todd Lester

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

