Race, Race Everywhere

raceI sometimes work on or write about things that pertain to race.  And, sometimes I write about my own relationship with race, growing up in the South. In the last few days, I’ve seen a few compelling articles zigzagging around Facebook that range from …

Portland drivers ‘clearly’ show racial bias at crosswalks, PSU study says (poll) to an obituary for Fred Ho … and:

One Step Forward, Two Steps Back? Thoughts about the Donelle Woolford Debate

Racism Doesn’t Work the Way You Think It Does

Junot Díaz condemns creative writing courses for ‘unbearable too-whiteness’

The Case for Reparations

Last night I stumbled across a Facebook thread that goes …

“I think being a brown person has really informed my view on all debates within the “queer” community, whatever that is. It’s always been that second minority status that has made me find my way in the world differently than a lot of my friends.  I think “queer” is a word trap. It’s beautiful that we’ve come up with such an all-encompassing self-identifier that fosters a sense of community and family. But the flip side to that is we’ve come to feel that we should have a strong opinion about every argument that erupts under the “queer” umbrella, even when it’s none of our business.  I am ___ in a light skin aspirational society. I am often effeminate in a society that hates nothing more than feminine men. I love men in an often homophobic society. I can speak to these attributes directly. I am not interested in discussing the validity of these struggles with people who don’t understand them first hand, and I frankly find it offensive when people who don’t live these experiences debate them.”  — Facebooker

… to which I commented:

I tend to agree with you. Yet I think it might be essential for white people to discuss things – albeit with intentional, nuanced respect – they can’t have experienced in the process (or journey) of finding ways to be in solidarity.

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

